Assault Defense Lawyer in Chattanooga, TN
Facing Assault Charges in Tennessee?
Whether you are charged with simple assault or aggravated assault in Tennessee, a conviction can result in harsh criminal penalties, including jail or prison time and fines worth thousands of dollars. At Best & Brock, we are ready to help you get your entire case dismissed or your charges/penalties reduced.
What is Assault?
In Tennessee, the legal system differentiates between simple assault and aggravated assault based on the severity of the offense and the specific circumstances surrounding the incident.
Simple assault refers to the intentional causing of bodily injury or the intentional causing of an individual to fear imminent bodily injury. It generally involves less severe acts of physical harm or threats. Simple assault can also include offensive physical contact or attempts to provoke a physical confrontation that make another person reasonably apprehensive of harm. Simple assault is considered a misdemeanor offense in Tennessee.
Aggravated assault is a more serious offense compared to simple assault. It involves intentionally causing serious bodily injury to another person or using or displaying a deadly weapon with the intent to cause fear of imminent bodily injury. Aggravated assault can also occur when a person commits an assault against certain protected individuals, such as law enforcement officers, firefighters, healthcare providers, or school employees while performing their duties. Aggravated assault is generally considered a felony offense in Tennessee.
What Are the Penalties for a Conviction?
Simple assault in the form of offensive contact is a Class B misdemeanor, which carries a maximum jail sentence of 6 months and/or a maximum fine of $500. Simple assault causing physical harm or fear of such harm is a Class A misdemeanor, punishable by up to 11 months and 29 days in jail and a $2,500 fine.
Aggravated assault involving knowing or intentional acts is a Class C felony, punishable by imprisonment for up to 15 years and a maximum fine of $10,000. Aggravated assault involving reckless acts is a Class D felony, which carries a maximum prison term of 12 years and/or a fine of up to $5,000.
Contact Our Chattanooga Assault Defense Attorneys
If you are facing assault charges, you need an experienced and aggressive team of Chattanooga assault lawyers on your side. At Best & Brock, we have built our reputation on providing our clients with the best possible legal representation. We know how the prosecution will approach your case and how to counter their arguments. Let us fight for you immediately.
- Team Oriented Representation
- Respected in the Legal Community
- Easily Accessible
- Well Trained in DUI Defense
- Personable and Thorough
- Experienced Litigators