Misdemeanors are the mid-level crimes that are more serious than an infraction but less serious than a felony. There are three classes of misdemeanor, according to severity.
What are the Penalties for Misdemeanor Crimes in Tennessee?
Tennessee misdemeanor classes carry the following penalties:
- Class A: Up to $2500 fine and/or prison term not exceeding 11 months, 29 days
- Class B: Up to $500 fine and/or jail term not exceeding 6 months
- Class C: Up to $50 fine and/or jail term not exceeding 30 days
While in some cases, the defendant is sentenced to either a fine or a prison/jail term, in others, the defendant can receive both.
You don’t need to take on the intricacies of the criminal justice system alone. At Best And Brock, we know that the backbone of our practice is our clients. We work hard to ensure that we answer your questions and advocate for your rights to the utmost of our abilities. We are known throughout the Tennessee area as tough, honest criminal defense lawyers.
Call our experienced Chattanooga misdemeanor crimes attorneys for a free case consultation today. Dial (423) 829-1043.
Common Class A Misdemeanors include:
- Assault or Domestic Assault (causing bodily injury or threatening bodily injury)
- Simple possession of marijuana
- Possession of drug paraphernalia
- Vandalism (less than $500 property damage)
- theft of property worth less than $1000 (theft of more than $1000 constitutes grand theft and is a felony).
- DUI (first offense with no injuries or death to victims)
- Aggravated criminal trespass
Common Class B Misdemeanors include:
- Assault (offensive physical contact not causing injury)
- Trespassing (at a location other than a habitation, hospital, or school)
- Reckless Driving
Common Class C misdemeanors include:
- Speeding (traffic ticket)
- Public Intoxication
- Criminal Trespass
Misdemeanors, though less serious than felonies, still deserve to be taken seriously. A misdemeanor conviction can result in jail time and damage to a family’s livelihood. Best And Brock aggressively advocates for our clients, earning us a strong reputation throughout the Tennessee legal community.
What is the Statute of Limitations on Misdemeanors in Tennessee?
The statute of limitations refers to how long after the crime is committed that a victim can seek legal action, usually beginning on the day the crime is committed. Most misdemeanors have a statute of limitations of one year, so if you are being arrested for a crime committed long ago, you may have grounds to dismiss it.
- Team Oriented Represntation
- Respected in the Legal Community
- Easily Accessible
- Well Trained in DUI Defense
- Personable and Thorough
- Experienced Litigators